World Families Forums - Advice Wanted: Newbie who just found out I'm R1b1b2 too...

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 25, 2014, 01:00:23 PM
Home Help Search Login Register

+  World Families Forums
|-+  General Forums - Note: You must Be Logged In to post. Anyone can browse.
| |-+  R1b General (Moderator: rms2)
| | |-+  Advice Wanted: Newbie who just found out I'm R1b1b2 too...
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Advice Wanted: Newbie who just found out I'm R1b1b2 too...  (Read 794 times)
jhaze

« on: June 02, 2010, 01:41:25 PM »

Hey Everyone,

I've been doing some reading on my own, but I am fairly new to this hobby and I am looking for some advice from some of the experts on this forum.  Any info you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Background: I just got my results back from the National Geographic Genographic Project last night and I found out I am R1b1b2.

Specifically,

13 - 24 -15 11 - 11 - 15 - 12 - 12 - 12 - 13 -13 - 29

I know this measures ancient paternal ancestry, but I was surprised because both of my parents were born in Poland and I assumed I was going to be R1a.  My last name is Haze, which was changed from Hejza and  that was changed from something similar to Hesse.  Both my grandfather and great grandfather served in the polish military and I believe my great grandfather changed their name from Hesse (or something similar) to Hejza to make it look more polish than german.  Hesse pronounced in german is somewhat similar to how Hejza is pronounced in English (Hess-eh vs Hay-zah).  I have very to little information on my grandfather, let alone my great grandfather, so I have very little to go on.  Family tree dna says I have 86 exact matches, but none them are close to Hesse or something similar. 

Questions:
1) Given this information and the R1b1b2 haplogroup, it seems I might be of germanic, not polish/slavic origin, huh?