World Families Forums - Curous about DNA testing

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 12, 2014, 07:05:18 PM
Home Help Search Login Register

+  World Families Forums
|-+  Family Boards
| |-+  Surname Projects Starting With 'V'
| | |-+  Vickers (Moderator: Ray Vick)
| | | |-+  Curous about DNA testing
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Curous about DNA testing  (Read 1590 times)
Richard Vickers
« on: December 18, 2005, 07:10:39 PM »

Hi, my name is Richard Vickers.  I have been working my families geneology for about five years now, and have linked back to a Vicars line (Robert Vicars : London -> VA 1757), but since a good chunk of the early 1800's records were destroyed in a Courthouse fire during the Civil war, the link from my family back is not perfect.
I have located a gentleman of direct descendent of Robert Vicars who is willing to be tested genetically.  Now my question is, how to go about this process to keep things as simple as possible.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Richard Vickers
Orlando, FL
Sara VanLandingham
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2006, 11:56:10 PM »

Hello. I would like to add some information.

My Grandmother's name was Daisy May Vickers (West Virginia). If you research this family line through the U.S. census, you might find it interesting.

Daisy May Vickers (my maternal Grandmother)
Allie Mae Dillon m. Albert Enos Vickers (my Great Grandfather)

John Hamilton Vickers (Albert's father) m. Nancy Spurlock-(related to "Indian Princess Elizabeth")

Simeon Vickers (John's father) m. Parthena Lawrence - trying to verify this marriage.

From Parthena Lawrence, the line goes back to William Lawrence.

He "supposedly" married Katherine Beaumont.

The Beaumont family tree traces to England and then to John de Beaumont who married Eleanor Plantagenet. The Plantagenet family is a royal family line.