World Families Forums - Which Y-DNA Test

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
February 27, 2015, 01:01:46 AM
Home Help Search Login Register

+  World Families Forums
|-+  General Forums - Note: You must Be Logged In to post. Anyone can browse.
| |-+  General Discussion
| | |-+  Which Y-DNA Test
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Which Y-DNA Test  (Read 256 times)
mbare

« on: December 24, 2014, 10:55:49 AM »

Greetings,  

First, I'm just learning about DNA Genealogy.  Yesterday I ordered the Y-DNA67 kit from Family Tree DNA.  Today I was reading through the paragraphs that accompanied them and I now have questions.  The Y-DNA67 kit says it matches within 6 generations, but the Y-DNA37 kit says it matches within 8 generations.  

Isn't 8 generations better than 6 and the price is cheaper.

The url of the screen capture, to show what I was reading.

Screen Capture
« Last Edit: December 24, 2014, 10:58:40 AM by mbare » Logged

---
Piggott Arkansas Bare
Word Families Bear-Barr Family DNA Project
http://www.worldfamilies.net/surnames/bear/
Terry Barton
Administrator
Guru

« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2014, 11:40:46 PM »

I wish I could change that explanation at FTDNA.  It is very confusing and wouldn't be particularly helpful even if it was written more clearly. 

1. More markers are better - as long as the people you are matching are testing at least to the level you have tested (and/or will test to your level in future).

2. The 67 yDNA test has become the most rational first test over recent years - particularly when it's on sale - as now.  Testing at 37 markers is adequate for some folks - and when it isn't, they can always upgrade.  With the current sale pricing, the later cost to upgrade to 67 ($99 when not on sale) will make the 37 yDNA testing choice now more expensive in total.